MAHC Annual General Meeting Celebrates Excellence

Posted on Tuesday June 20, 2017

2017 Board Award of Excellence

The recipients of the 10th annual Board Award of Excellence were announced at Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare’s (MAHC) Annual General Meeting on Monday, June 19th in Bracebridge.

This year, 20 individuals were nominated by their hospital peers. The award is presented to recipients who exemplify MAHC’s values of Accountability, Respect, Optimism, Leadership and Engagement, and recognizes staff and physicians who have made significant achievements in patient- and family-centered care, outstanding management of people, financial or material resources, successfully completed a major project or special assignment beyond what is normally expected, and/or an extraordinary commitment to patient safety.

The winners of the 2017 Board Award of Excellence are:

Ann Swan, Laboratory Transcriptionist

Linda Scott, Senior Imaging Technologist/Clinical Instructor (absent from photo)

Lesley-Anne Earl, RN, Med/Surg (absent from photo)

Irene Tamas Murray, Manager, Ambulatory Services (absent from photo)

“The Board is proud to present this award to deserving recipient every year,” says Board Chair Evelyn Brown. “Our people are MAHC’s greatest asset and we are privileged to have such amazing teams.”

The nominees further included:

Alanna Major, RN, ICU

Alison Fraser-Robson, OTA/PTA

Anne Murdy, Dietary Aide

Brenda Liddle, Speech-Language Pathologist

Catherine Keeling, Dietary Aide

Debbie Payne, RN, Patient Flow Navigator

Dr. Jack McCann, Radiologist

Harold Featherston, Chief Executive, Diagnostics, Ambulatory & Planning

Julie Jones, RN, Dialysis

Kim Gibbard, Environmental Services Aide

Mark Janke, Maintenance

Marla McKenzie, Charge Imaging Technologist

Pamela Leeder, Activation Co-ordinator

Seniors Assessment and Support Outreach Team (SASOT)

Sheree Stewart, Patient Registration Clerk

Sheri Keates, RN, Resource

Regretfully, keynote speaker Christine Elliott, Ontario’s Patient Ombudsman, was unable to attend, and in her place Brown gave an overview of her office’s role. The Board is keen to reschedule a presentation by Ms. Elliott in Muskoka at a later date. The evening also featured presentations about the new Patient and Family Advisory Committee and improvements in MAHC’s environmental performance.

During the AGM, a new Board Director, Donald Eastwood, was elected to the Board by the members. Mr. Eastwood brings to the Board professional experience from public service in Innisfil, Toronto and York Region in departments including development services and economic development.

The MAHC Board of Directors is a volunteer body that plays a key leadership role in setting policies and visioning for the hospital and the delivery of health care in the communities that we serve.